Galaxy 2 Galaxy - A Hi Tech Jazz Compilation - 2CD: Submerge Online Store
Store Front Account  Search Product List Basket Contents  Checkout 

Books / Magazines
Compact Discs
Mix CDs
T- Shirts
Mouse Pad
Rhythm and Blues
Agent Chaos
430 West Records
Octave One
7 inch
Andy Garcia
Nick Speed

Items: 0 Total: $0.00

Click Here to view your basket.

Galaxy 2 Galaxy - A Hi Tech Jazz Compilation - 2CD

Galaxy 2 Galaxy - A Hi Tech Jazz Compilation - 2CDQuantity in Basket: none
Code: SUBCD-3010-2

Sorry, we are currently sold out of 'Galaxy 2 Galaxy - A Hi Tech Jazz Compilation - 2CD'. Please check back later.

Format: 2 CD Compact Disc
Label: Submerge Recordings
Artist: Galaxy 2 Galaxy



CD 1:
1. Metamorphosis
2. Transition
3. The Theory (mind mix)
4. Return of the Dragons
5. Big Stone Lake
6. Sometimes I Feel Like
7. Body and Soul
8. Nation 2 Nation
9. 303 Sunset
10. A Moment In Time
11. Jupiter Jazz
12. Amazon
13. Astral Apache
14. Deep Space 9

CD 2:
1. Hi-Tech Jazz
2. Star Sailing
3. Windchime
4. Timeline
5. First Galactic Baptist Church
6. Inspiration
7. Momma's Basement
8. Afro's, Arps and Minimoogs

Galaxy 2 Galaxy is a band that was conceptualized with the first hitech Jazz record produced by UR in 1986/87 and later released in 1990 which was "Nation 2 Nation" (UR-005).

Jeff Mills and Mike Banks had visions of Jazz music and musicians operating on the same "man machine" doctrine dropped on them from Kraftwerk. Early experiments with synthesisers and jazz by artists like Herbie Hancock, Stevie Wonder, Weather Report, Return to Forever, Larry Heard and Lenny Whites Astral Pirates also pointed them in this direction.

UR went on to produce and further innovate this form of music which was coined "Hitech Jazz" by fans after the historic 1993 release of UR's "Galaxy 2 Galaxy" (UR-025) album which included the underground UR smash titled "Hitech Jazz"

It was at this point rumours of a possible tour for "Galaxy 2 Galaxy" surfaced. Banks considered many offers but UR's intense production schedule, inherent reclusiveness and inability to find the right circumstances all led to this tour never materializing. It wasn't until 2001 when called on by lifetime UR member Jeff Mills for a conceptual show he was doing in Tokyo called "Time Sensitive" that Banks decided it was time to roll. Knowing that Jeff would create the correct atmosphere for the band Banks decided to do a small 4 man band called "Timeline" which conviently fitted in with Jeff's concept as well as representing a cross section of time with varying UR band members ranging from old battle hardened veterans to new up and coming artists/Dj's. Timeline was an experiment to see if this man machine/jazz concept could work live if so then Galaxy 2 Galaxy would surely be born.

Consequently the Jeff Mills "Time Sensitive" show was a huge success! Timeline went on to play Rome and Bologna, Italy!! Also with great results. Upon returning from these experimental outings UR determined that it was indeed time for "Galaxy 2 Galaxy"

A self titled compilation album was completed. And the shadowy members of G2G were assembled and informed of the experimental nature of their mission. Primed and ready to go the band stands ready to demonstrate the sonic possibilties when man and machine musically respect each others abilities.

Related Item(s)
Code Name Image Price  
UR-005 UR - Nation 2 Nation - 12Ep UR - Nation 2 Nation - 12Ep  $5.99
UR-052 UR - Return of the Dragons - 12EP UR - Return of the Dragons - 12EP  $5.99
UR-054 UR - Windchime - 12EP UR - Windchime - 12EP  $5.99
SUBLP-3009-1 Los Hermanos - On Another Level - 2LP Los Hermanos - On Another Level - 2LP  $13.99
SUBCD-3009-2 Los Hermanos - On Another Level - CD Los Hermanos - On Another Level - CD  $17.99
SUBLP-3010-1 Galaxy 2 Galaxy - A HiTech Jazz Compilation - 2LP Galaxy 2 Galaxy - A HiTech Jazz Compilation -  2LP  $13.99
Submerge • 3000 East Grand Blvd • Detroit, MI • 48202
For Customer Service please